I’m not sure whether I’m stating the bleeding obvious as they say, but track and trace will never be any good in the UK, it is fatally flawed.
There are a considerable number of self employed people who get no help or support whatsoever when they are unemployed so as a group I suspect they have not downloaded the app, I imagine they view getting caught as rather like turkeys voting for Christmas.
Another large group who are not going to sign up are the young students who are out raving and would obviously not want their activities curtailed by track and trace.
One more section of society who are never going to join in the fun are those families who spend a considerable amount of time flitting from household to household as it is the cultural norm for them to do so.
Lastly I come to another group, myself included which I would term technophobes or Luddites who have never downloaded an app in their lives and have no idea either how to do it, nor what to do with it had they achieved the download.
I experienced this a week or so ago when I met two of my friends for a socially distanced lunch meeting where we were faced with the option of scanning the app or writing our name and phone number on a sheet of paper.
As I have never knowingly used an app I plumped for the paper version straight away but was mildly amused by my friends who were waving their phones at the strange QR code thing, neither of them with the faintest idea of what to do with it.
This leaves a small section of society who downloaded the app the minute it was available, however this too is not of much use either as these people are so scared of Covid-19 that they very rarely leave the sanctuary of their own homes anyway.
All I can say is please do not blame the Government for the failure of track and trace, for I suspect it is probably quite a good system, the only flaw being the considerable numbers of people who for one reason or another are not using it!